Keep up to date

Get our free monthly newsletter and other exciting updates

* required

Latest news

Latest News

More updates

October 2013 enewsletter

Northern Ballet's October enewsletter
Christmas comes early
Join Scrooge, Bob Cratchit, Tiny Tim, Mrs Fezziwig and three terrifying ghosts in our interpretation of the classic Dickens tale A Christmas Carol. With traditional Christmas carols and vibrant sets and costumes, this magical and heart-warming production is guaranteed to get you in the festive spirit.
Book now for A Christmas Carol
Watch the A Christmas Carol trailer
Visit the A Christmas Carol mini-site
Northern Ballet's A Christmas Carol. Photo Bill Cooper.
Darren Golsmith, photo Simon Lawson.
I've loved every second
From Scrooge in A Christmas Carol to Lowry in A Simple Man and Seward in Dracula, Darren has brought to life an impressive range of characters in countless productions. Celebrating 20 years with the Company, meet Darren in our latest 60 seconds feature.
Read Darren's 60 second interview
Sponsor Darren
Set to blow the house down
Help save the little pigs from the big bad wolf as he tries to huff and puff and blow their houses down. With adorable costumes and cartoon capers, our colourful and entertaining new ballet for children premières in Leeds this month.
Book for Three Little Pigs now
Watch the Three Little Pigs trailer
See the photos
Teresa Saavedra-Bordes and Mlindi Kulashe in Three Little Pigs. Photo Brian Slater.
Save the date
On 5, 6 & 7 December we'll be participating in The Big Give Christmas Challenge 2013. During this time any money you donate to our Sponsor a Dancer campaign could be doubled.
Plus, Northern Ballet HQ opens its doors on 15 February 2014 for a fun-filled day of free performances, talks, classes and more. Watch this space for details of the day's schedule and how to book.
Sponsor a Dancer
Open House 2014
This month at Stanley & Audrey Burton Theatre
Don't miss Company Chameleon's evocative and beautiful double bill Pictures We Make. Experience the stunning talents of Northern Ballet's Principal Cellist Sasha Volpov and Company Pianist Grant Green in Cello & Piano Duo. And find out if any of the little pigs will be smart enough to escape the big bad wolf in Northern Ballet's Three Little Pigs.
What's on
Watch clips of Pictures we make
Something else you might like
'People' at Leeds Grand Theatre
Following a sell-out run at the National Theatre, Alan Bennett's acclaimed new comedy People comes to Leeds Grand Theatre from 5 - 9 November. People reunites Alan Bennett with director Nicholas Hytner, following their collaborations on the celebrated The History Boys and The Habit of Art and stars Siân Phillips, Michael Thomas, Brigit Forsyth and Selina Cadell.
Book now for People at Leeds Grand Theatre
Autumn Glory at Harewood House this October Half-Term
26 October - 3 November
Enjoy everything Harewood has to offer inside and out! Perfect for the whole family; there's a range of activities that celebrate this glorious time of year. Take part in craft activities, see food demos, cosy-up with storytelling, follow trails to explore the Gardens, Bird Garden, Adventure Playground and more.
Find out more about Autumn Glory
What's on
A Christmas Carol
Norwich Theatre Royal
Wed 9 - Sat 12 Oct
Box Office 01603 630 000
Canterbury Marlowe Theatre
Tue 29 Oct - Sat 2 Nov
Box Office 01227 787787
Sheffield Lyceum Theatre
Tue 5 - Sat 9 Nov
Box Office 0114 249 6000
Bradford Alhambra Theatre
Wed 13 - Sat 16 Nov
Box Office 01274 432000
Manchester Palace Theatre
Tue 19 - Sat 23 Nov
Box Office 0844 871 3019
Three Little Pigs
Leeds The Hunslet Club
Sun 20 Oct
Leeds The Riley Theatre
Sat 26 Oct
Leeds Stanley & Audrey Burton Theatre
Mon 28 Oct - Sat 2 Nov
Box Office 0113 220 8008
Relaxed performance available
Cinderella
Leeds Grand Theatre
Tue 17 Dec 2013 - Sat 4 Jan 2014
(Preview performance Mon 16 Dec 2013)
Box Office 0844 848 2700
Hull New Theatre
Wed 2 Apr - Sat 5 April, 2014
Box Office 01482 300 300
Audio Described performance available
Cardiff New Theatre
Tue 8 Apr - Sat 12 April, 2014
Box Office 029 2087 8889
Cleopatra
Leeds Grand Theatre
Thu 6 - Sat 15 Mar 2014
Box Office 0844 848 2700
Sheffield Lyceum Theatre
Tue 25 - Sat 29 Mar 2014
Box Office 0114 249 6000
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Edinburgh, Festival Theatre
Thu 20 Mar - Sat 22 Mar, 2014
Box Office 0131 529 6000
Norwich, Theatre Royal
Tue 13 May - Sat 17 May, 2014
Box Office 01603 630 000
On sale 20 Jan
Milton Keynes Theatre
Tue 20 May - Sat 24 May, 2014
Box Office 0844 871 7652
Southampton, The Mayflower
Wed 28 May - Sat 31 May, 2014
Box Office 02380 711811
Northern Ballet
Quarry Hill, Leeds LS2 7PA
Northern Ballet on Facebook Northern Ballet on Twitter Northern Ballet on YouTube Northern Ballet on Google Plus Northern Ballet on Linked In Northern Ballet on Pinterest Northern Balelt on Tumblr
Photos Jason Tozer, Bill Cooper, Simon Lawson and Brian Slater.
Supported by Arts Council England through lottery fundingSupported by Leeds City Council
northernballet.com