Carlotta Pini

Apprentice
Carlotta Pini

Carlotta is from Florence, Italy and trained at the ASD Ballet Centre and the Hamburg Ballet School before joining the Academy of Northern Ballet's Professional Graduate Programme. She joined Northern Ballet in 2017.

Learn more about Carlotta...

Where were you born and raised?

I was born and raised in Florence, Italy.

At what age did you start dancing?

I started dancing with my best friend when I was about 5 years old.

Where did you train?

I trained at several private ballet schools in Florence including the ASD Ballet Centre. In 2011 at the age of 14 I moved to Hamburg and trained for five years with a scholarship at the Hamburg Ballet School. After my graduation year in July 2016 I moved to Leeds to join the Academy of Northern Ballet's Professional Graduate Programme.

Which Northern Ballet roles would you most like to perform?

My favourite roles that I would most like to dance from Northern Ballet's repertoire are Cathy (Wuthering Heights), Juliet (Romeo and Juliet), Clara (The Nutcracker) and Giselle (Giselle).

Career/training highlights

Getting a contract with Northern Ballet, because it gave me the possibility to start my career as a professional ballet dancer which is my biggest dream.

What do you like most about being a dancer?

For me, ballet is a way of being. It is an art that gives me the possibility to express myself and my emotions through my body. I love dancing on stage because it makes me feel happy and free. Ballet gives me the possibiliy to grow as a person and puts me in contact with music.

If you could adapt one work into a ballet what would it be?

The Wizard of Oz.

What is your favourite book?

I have two favourite books: Come il vento tra i capelli by Lorenza Bernardi, and The Giver by Lois Lowry.

What is your favourite post-show meal?

Definitely pizza!

How do you like to relax?

Painting and playing the piano.

If you weren't a dancer what would you be?

Probably a maths teacher.